AD72: Diep for Assembly Announces $425,000 Raised, Additional Endorsements

Westminster Vice Mayor Tyler Diep has amassed a warchest of more than $425,000 for his quest for the open 72nd Assembly District seat, his campaign has announced, and also released a list of endorsements from more than four dozen elected officials.

Diep’s campaign has generated a lot of momentum since announcing his candidacy less than 6 months ago. He has garnered the support of the incumbent, Assemblyman Travis Allen, as well as Allens’ two predecessors. Also supporting his campaign are the Lincoln Club of Orange County, Orange County Sheriff Sandra Hutchens, OC District Attorney Tony Rackauckas, and more than a dozen other state and local elected officials – including Huntington Beach Mayor Delgleize and Councilmembers Mike Posey and Patrick Brenden.

The $425,000 raised by Diep for his Assembly race does not including any personal loans or other outstanding debt. According to his campaign, it will end the quarter with more than $400,000 cash-on-hand. This is an extraordinary amount for a Republican local elected official to raise in a short period of time.

Diep was first elected to the Westminster City Council in 2008.  He has been a strong taxpayer advocate, is committed to job creation and supporting small businesses by keeping taxes low, and has prioritized hiring more police officers and road repair while on the city council.   The 72nd District includes all of Westminster, Garden Grove, Fountain Valley, Los Alamitos, Seal Beach, a portion of Huntington Beach and the unincorporated county island of Midway City.

Diep’s endorsement list currently includes:

Lincoln Club of Orange County

U.S. Representative Mimi Walters

Board of Equalization Member Diane Harkey
Assemblyman Travis Allen
Assemblyman Bill Brough
Assemblyman Phillip Chen
Assemblyman Vince Fong
Assemblyman Steven Choi

Orange County District Attorney Tony Rackauckas
Orange County Sheriff Sandra Hutchens
Orange County Supervisor Michelle Steel
Orange County Supervisor Andrew Do
Orange County Supervisor Todd Spitzer
Orange County Auditor-Controller Eric Woolery
Orange County Clerk-Recorder Hugh Nguyen

Westminster Mayor Tri Ta
Westminster Council Member Kimberly Ho
Huntington Beach Mayor Michael Posey
Huntington Beach Council Member Barbara Delgleize
Huntington Beach Council Member Patrick Brenden
Fountain Valley Mayor Michael Vo
Fountain Valley Council Member Steve Nagel
Seal Beach Mayor Pro Tem Mike Varipapa
Seal Beach Council Member Thomas Moore
La Palma Council Member Peter Kim
Costa Mesa Council Member Jim Righeimer
Placentia Council Member Chad Wanke

Assembly Speaker Curt Pringle
Senate Republican Leader Dick Ackerman
Senator Tom Harman
Senator Tony Strickland
Assemblyman Jim Silva
Assemblyman Van Tran
Assemblyman Ken Maddox
Assemblyman Jeff Miller
Assemblyman Eric Linder
Assemblywoman Young Kim
Huntington Beach Mayor Don Hansen
Huntington Beach Mayor Cathy Green
Huntington Beach Mayor Peter Green
Huntington Beach Mayor Keith Bohr
Rancho Santa Margarita Council Member Steve Baric
Orange Council Member Denis Bilodeau

Fountain Valley School District Trustee Jim Cunneen
Los Alamitos Unified School District Trustee Jeff Barke
Garden Grove Unified School District Trustee Bob Harden
Garden Grove Unified School District Trustee Lan Quoc Nguyen
Garden Grove Unified School District Trustee Dina Nguyen
Westminster School District Trustee Mary Mangold
Westminster School District Trustee Khanh Nguyen
Westminster School District Trustee Frances Nguyen
Santa Ana Unified School District Trustee Cecilia Iglesias
Cypress School District Trustee Sandra Lee

AD72 is shaping up to be competitive. Other announced candidates include Greg Haskin, a public affairs executive and former executive director of the Republican Party of Orange County; and Josh Lowenthal, the son of Rep. Alan Lowenthal and former Assemblywoman Bonnie Lowenthal.


Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...
Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :