OCTA Board of Directors Gets Four New Members

The City Selection Committee met on Thursday of last week to elect city councilmembers from around Orange County to seats on various regional governmental bodies. Most attention is generally focused on the most consequential appointments the committee makes – to the Orange County Transportation Authority Board of Directors.  The 18-member board consists of the five county supervisors, two city councilmembers from each supervisor district, two public members, and the Caltrans District 12 director. There are two types of city council seats: the one-city, one-vote seat, and the population-weighted (in which a city’s voting weight corresponds to its percentage of the district’s population).

Four seats were open due to term limits, retirement or decision not to seek re-appointment. The latter case involves Irvine Councilman Jeff Lalloway, who had held the 3rd Supervisor District population-weighted seat but decided against re-appoint. Since he recently became chief of staff to Supervisor Todd Spitzer, this solved the awkward issue of one OCTA director being the employee of another director.

Here’s how the elections went down, as recounted by Chris Nguyen on our media partner OCPolitical.com:

OCTA 1st District Population Weighted Seat

Miguel Pulido reappointed by acclamation. After all, Pulido single-handedly holds the majority of the votes for this seat.

OCTA 2nd District One City One Vote

Gary Miller of Seal Beach is termed out from his City Council seat.

Mike Varipapa of Seal Beach gets 2 votes, which are from Newport Beach and Seal Beach.

Richard Murphy of Los Alamitos wins with 7 votes, which came from Costa Mesa, Cypress, Fountain Valley, Huntington Beach, La Palma, Los Alamitos, and Stanton.

OCTA 2nd District Population Weighted

Jim Katapodis of Huntington Beach did not seek reappointment.
Barbara Delgleize of Huntington Beach is appointed by acclamation.

OCTA 3rd District Population Weighted

Jeff Lalloway of Irvine opted not to seek reappointment.

Craig Young of Yorba Linda gets the votes of 12.17% of the population, which came from Yorba Linda.

Mark Murphy of Orange wins the seat, with the votes of 87.83% of the population, which came from Irvine, Orange, Tustin, and Villa Park.

OCTA 4th District

Tim Shaw of La Habra reappointed by acclamation.

OCTA 5th District One City One Vote

Lori Donchak of San Clemente reappointed by acclamation.

OCTA 5th District Population Weighted

Frank Ury of Mission Viejo is termed out from his City Council seat.

Laurie Davies of Laguna Niguel appointed by acclamation.


Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...
Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com